Participation and involvement of CSO in UNCCD meetings and processes

The COP first addressed directly the issue of the involvement of civil society organisations in the implementation of the Convention and their participation in official UNCCD meetings in 2009. Decision 5/COP.9 created the CSO Panel to coordinate the involvement of accredited CSO in the COP. It has five members, representing one of the five United Nations regional groups. COP10 had required COP13 to evaluate the revised accreditation procedures based on CSO involvement. COP13 endorsed the findings of the independent study conducted for this purpose and requested the Secretariat to report on their implementation at COP14.

In Document ICCD/COP(14)/13, the Secretariat indicates that it has facilitated the accreditation of CSO access to the COP and assisted these CSO in raising funds to allow the functioning of the Panel and their participation in COP activities[2]. The Panel has been working on the following main issues: interactions with CSO, participation of CSO in official UNCCD meetings, activities relating to the LDN fund and the LDN Fund technical assistance facility. The Panel attended CRIC17 in January 2019 and the first LDN Fund Steering Committee and has participated actively in the work of the SPI

The independent evaluation formulated three recommendations:

  • That the Panel develop operational guidelines or terms of reference, including a time-bound strategic plan.
  • That the Panel establishes a communication plan.
  • That the Secretariat continues to support the international, national and local work of accredited CSO in the implementation of the Convention.

The experience of the last two years relating to the CSO Panel seems to have borne fruit. Its existence facilitates the international coordination of CSO. The Panel’s biennial plan is useful, despite material reasons preventing the achievement of all the planned activities. Visibility at regional and local levels remains a problem and the Secretariat suggests that the Parties promote the Panel internally.

[1] ICCD/COP(14)/13 – Participation and involvement of civil society organisations in meetings and processes of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification. Note by the Secretariat.

[2] ICCD/COP(14)/13 – Participation and involvement of civil society organisations in meetings and processes of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification. Note by the Secretariat.

Participation and involvement of the private sector in the UNCDD meetings and processes and the business engagement strategy

The involvement of the private sector in the UNCCD activities has been encouraged and enhanced by Decisions 5/COP.11, 6/COP.12 and 6/COP.13. The Parties requested the Secretariat to establish a Business Engagement Strategy (BES), which was presented to the Parties at COP12. It has since governed the relations between UNCCD and private businesses. In its note ICCD/COP(14)/14[1], the Secretariat sets out seven partnerships established between the Convention and businesses under the BES.

The first one is the LDN Fund. The Secretariat believes that the initiative has shown especially that entities normally focused on renewable energies can be interested. In addition, the GM has successfully piloted in Ghana and Burkina Faso a project for the development of value chains for under-utilised products, including baobab, moringa and fonio, with economic potential and potential for improving living standards. This project is aiming to create green jobs and its approach is both demand-based and business-driven. The project has involved establishing local cooperatives and a contract with an international buyer. It seems to have had a transformative effect for the 24 communities involved and has more than 11,000 beneficiaries.

Other types of partnership have also taken shape. Sustainable Land Management Business Forum has met on four occasions and will be held for a fifth time immediately after COP14. Its declaration at COP13, during which the fourth forum was held, was integrated in the final report of the COP. The Soil Leadership Academy is a public-private partnership functioning as a knowledge platform to assist policymakers to achieve LDN. A Memorandum of Understanding was signed by UNCCD and the International Solar Alliance, given that this source of renewable energy has an important role in sustainable land management and lasting economic growth.

In parallel with the Great Green Wall project, the GM has set up a training platform to encourage green entrepreneurship. A pilot training programme was held at Bolgatanga, Ghana in April 2019. policy-makers and businessmen from Burkina Faso, Ghana, Mali, Niger and Senegal discussed their experiences in developing value chains for dryland products to continue on this path.

[1] ICCD/COP(14)/14 – Participation and involvement of the private sector in meetings and processes of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification. Note du secrétariat.

Close Menu
English
Français English

Participation et implication des OSC dans les rencontres et les processus de la CNULCD

La question de l’implication des organisations de la société civile (OSC) dans la mise en œuvre de la Convention et de leur participation dans les rencontres officielles de la CNULCD a commencé à être directement abordée par la CdP en 2009. La décision 5/COP.9 a créé le Panel OSC pour coordonner l’implication des OSC accréditées à la CdP. Il est composé de cinq membres, représentant chacun l’un des cinq groupes régionaux des Nations Unies. La CdP 10 avait requis que la CdP 13 procède à une évaluation des procédures révisées d’accréditation sur la base de l’implication des OSC. La CdP 13 a avalisé les conclusions de l’étude indépendante effectuée à cette fin, et a demandé à ce qu’un rapport de leur mise en œuvre soit effectué par le secrétariat pour la CdP 14.

Le secrétariat indique, dans le document ICCD/COP(14)/13[1], avoir facilité l’accréditation pour l’accès des OSC aux CdP, et avoir assisté ces OSC dans l’obtention de financement pour le fonctionnement du Panel et pour leur participation aux activités de la CdP.[2] Les enjeux principaux sur lesquels le Panel travaille sont les suivants : les interactions avec les OSC, la participation des OSC dans les rencontres officielles de la CNULCD, les activités relatives au Fonds NDT, et le dispositif d’assistance technique du Fonds NDT. Le Panel a été présent au CRIC 17 tenu en janvier 2019 ainsi qu’au premier comité directeur pour le Fonds NDT, et a participé activement au travail de l’ISP.

L’évaluation indépendante a formulé trois recommandations :

  • Que le Panel développe des lignes directrices opérationnelles ou termes de références, incluant un plan stratégique défini dans le temps.
  • Que le Panel développe un plan de communication.
  • Que le secrétariat continue de soutenir le travail des OSC accréditées aux niveaux international, national et local, dans la mise en œuvre de la Convention.

L’expérience des deux dernières années concernant le Panel OSC semble fructueuse. Son existence facilite la coordination des OSC au niveau international. Le plan biennal du Panel est utile, bien que des raisons matérielles aient empêché que toutes les activités prévues puissent être réalisées. La visibilité aux niveaux régional et local demeure un problème, et le secrétariat suggère aux Parties de faire la promotion du Panel à l’interne.

[1] ICCD/COP(14)/13 – Participation and involvement of civil society organizations in meetings and processes of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification. Note du secrétariat.

[2] ICCD/COP(14)/13 – Participation and involvement of civil society organizations in meetings and processes of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification. Note du secrétariat.

Participation et implication du secteur privé dans les rencontres et les processus de la CNULCD et stratégie d’engagement des entreprises

L’implication du secteur privé dans les activités de la Convention a été encouragé et encadré par les décisions 5/COP.11, 6/COP.12 et 6/COP.13. Les Parties ont demandé au secrétariat d’établir une Stratégie de mobilisation des entreprises (SME), qui a été présentée aux Parties à la CdP 12. Elle gouverne depuis les relations entre la Convention et les entreprises privées. Le secrétariat, dans la note ICCD/COP(14)/14[1], présente sept partenariats qui ont été établis entre la Convention et les entreprises dans le cadre de la SME.

Il s’agit tout d’abord du Fonds NDT. Selon le secrétariat, l’initiative a notamment montré qu’il était possible d’intéresser des entités qui se tournent habituellement vers les énergies renouvelables. Par ailleurs, le MM a piloté, au Ghana et au Burkina Faso, un projet de développement des chaînes de valeurs concernant des produits actuellement sous-utilisés, tels que le baobab, le moringa et le fonio, et qui présentent un potentiel économique et d’amélioration du niveau de vie. L’objectif de ce projet est la création d’emplois verts; l’approche suivie est (1) fondée sur la demande, et (2) conduite par les entreprises. Le projet a impliqué la création de coopératives locales, ainsi qu’un contrat avec un acheteur international. Il semble avoir eu un effet transformateur pour les 24 communautés impliquées et compte plus de 11 000 bénéficiaires.

D’autres types de partenariat ont également pris forme. Le Forum des entreprises pour la gestion durable des terres a été tenu à quatre reprises, et sera organisé pour la cinquième fois immédiatement après la CdP 14. Lors de la CdP 13, durant laquelle le quatrième forum a eu lieu, sa déclaration avait été prise en compte dans le rapport final de la CdP. L’Académie de leadership des sols est une initiative en partenariat public-privé fonctionnant comme une plateforme de connaissances qui vise à aider les décideurs à atteindre la NDT. Un mémorandum d’accord a été signé par la CNULCD et l’Alliance solaire internationale, étant donné que cette source d’énergie renouvelable permet une gestion durable des terres et une croissance économique durable.

En parallèle au projet de la Grande muraille verte, le MM a monté une plateforme de formation pour favoriser l’entrepreneuriat vert. Un programme pilote de formation s’est tenu en avril 2019 à Bolgatanga, Ghana. Des décideurs et des entrepreneurs du Burkina Faso, du Ghana, du Mali, du Niger et du Sénégal ont échangé sur leurs expériences dans le développement de chaînes de valeurs pour des produits provenant de zones arides afin de poursuivre dans cette voie.

[1] ICCD/COP(14)/14 – Participation and involvement of the private sector in meetings and processes of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification. Note du secrétariat.

Fermer le menu
Français
English Français